Lest we forget

IMG_20141103_121114

As I walked through my local high street, casually peering through the shopping windows, I could not help but be drawn to the poppy display on the window of one of the shops. As I stopped to admire the display, I saw the words – Lest we forget – in the middle of the wreath and I began to ponder.

As I pondered on the phrase “Lest we forget , I imagined a huge panorama of situations and I began to appreciate the enormity and essence of the phrase. It is obvious that the phrase refers to the fallen heroes who lost their lives in battle, for which we are eternally grateful, but in a broader sense there are many other fallen heroes who we sometimes tend to forget because of our ever busy lives. Fallen not in battle but from the radar of our social interactions and heroes in the sense that they play a crucial part, even though we don’t realize it, in making our everyday lives more pleasurable

As we start our day and make our way to work tomorrow

  • Lest we forget, the newspaper vendor, who in spite of the bitter cold is always there to sell us our favorite newspaper
  • Lest we forget the station attendant at the train station who is always there to resolve any ticket problems  as promptly as possible  so that we don’t run late to work
  • Lest we forget the receptionist at office, who always arrives early to greet everyone with a warm smile
  • Lest we forget that colleague, who no one ever talks to but who always remembers to initiate the birthday card rounds
  • Lest we forget the office cleaner, who diligently carries out his work and never leaves a speck of dust on our desk or on our computer screen
  • Lest we forget the servers at the canteen, who are ever ready to serve us our chosen dish even when it is finished
  • Lest we forget to smile or to say hello or to briefly acknowledge the people whose duties affect us each day making our lives more enjoyable

And, lest I forget to say thank you for taking the time to read my blog

Happy Remembrance Sunday

Love

Aiirkey Happy Bags

http://www.aiirkey.com

One thought on “Lest we forget

Leave a comment